Register Now!
Patron Membership
Board Menu
» Help

Go Back   TradTalk Forums > Main Category > Hunting Camp

Old 09-20-2020, 12:14 PM

Default Tips for a first timer...

Hi everyone!

I am new to hunting in general and plan on going out for my first archery season for deer in a few weeks. I've had a recurve for about a year and shot occasionally until the last 2 months. In the last 2 months I try to shoot 3-5 days shooting around 50ish arrows, or until I feel I'm over fatigued.

My bow is a Bear Raven (some Sears exclusive, seems like a kodiak copy). AMO of 60 and #45.

I feel very confident at 15 yds, so-so at 20 and I'm all over the place at 25. I do feel inside 15yds I can put a deer down ethically and consistently.

My plan is to wait for a shot I feel confident in, let a deer walk if I don't feel it's a shot I can make for a clean kill. This may mean I go all season without firing an arrow if needed (though I hope not!)

So my question is what would you tell a first time archer going out for their first season? Simple things to keep in mind that you have learned over your years of experience.

Thanks everyone!

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to stevensk06 For This Useful Post:
JohnnyJo1 (11-21-2020)
Remove Ads
Old 09-20-2020, 12:20 PM
Haybale Hunter

3D Bow: Hoyt Satori
Outdoor Target Bow: Hoyt Satori
Default Re: Tips for a first timer...

I'll tell you a weird kind of tip that always works for me;

Just assume you are going into the woods to enjoy the day. If a deer happens to come within your comfortable range, great but thats not really what you are there for.

Whenever I go out pumped up to take a deer, its almost as if Im giving off vibrations that keep the deer away.

If I go out casually, just to get out for some R&R, I usually have much better luck. Sometimes I go out with the idea that even if I get a shot I might not take it, and whenever I do that I'm amazed at the opportunities that present themselves.