Register Now!
Patron Membership
Board Menu
» Help

Go Back   TradTalk Forums > Main Category > TradTalk Main Forum

Old 07-26-2020, 07:34 PM

Default tuning confusion for a super recurve

Hi all,

Admittedly I'm a novice at tuning a recurve so I'm asking for some guidance...

I'm seeing a consistent nock right and slight point down on impact on the arrow.

Bow is Covert Hunter 17" riser, 60" M limbs, #50 (H8)

Nock height is 1/2"

I've got a very slight bias to left on the plunger and the arrow points left when on the shelf.

Arrows:
1. Beeman Hunter 400 spine, 422gr, cut to 29.5" (cut the arrow, not including nock or FP etc) 125 grain point.

2. FMJ 5mm 300 spine, 580gr, cut to 30", 125gr point

3. GT Kinectic 300 spine, 542gr, cut to 30.5", 175gr FP.

With all three arrows I get the same result. I have a bias towards hitting right of target, nock to the right of the field point.

I've not paper tuned, I don't have access to the set up and I've not yet bareshafted.

Arrow flight seem very straight and smooth for the higher spined arrows. Perhaps more erratic on the beman but I'm thinking that arrow is on the border of being too weak.

Any suggestions of what to experiment with methodically to see what's up? My form is pretty good (I feel), and at 30yds I"m very accurate but at 40 the group really tends to open up and the bias is as I'm said above - to the right with nock right. In my home target at 14 yards, the nock is about an 1" to 1.25" to the right of the field point at impact.

Cheers
Old 07-26-2020, 08:16 PM

http://www.fedoracustombows.com/tuning-setup-tips/

See if this helps you any.
The Following User Says Thank You to BHawkins74 For This Useful Post:
DDD (07-27-2020)
Old 07-26-2020, 09:07 PM
Civil but Disobedient

Outdoor Target Bow: Bernardini Luxor with Border HEX6 limbs
Default Re: tuning confusion for a super recurve